|  
imgBoardwalk
Boardwalk
imgLion's Pool
Lion's Pool
imgSteering Wheel Park
Steering Wheel Park
imgNother
Nother
imgWater Front
Water Front
City Assessor

Assessors are certified in the State of Michigan through the State Tax Commission. Each Assessor must be certified with the level that is required for the Unit in which they provide service for. Continuing education is required and must be obtained prior to renewal of license. All education classes and requirement of hours must be approved by the State of Michigan.

 

CONTACT US

Wendy Loshaw - City Assessor
(810) 794-9361 ext. 5
Email:  assessing@algonac-mi.gov

 

BUSINESS HOURS

Tuesday, 9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Closed holidays - please see city calendar or phone

Homeowner/buyer/seller can print off forms and return them to the Assessor.

 

The following forms can be printed and completed and filed.

Download the Property Transfer Affidavit Form

Download the Request to Rescind Principal Residence Exemption Form

Download the Principal Residence Exemption Form

 

PROPERTY TRANSFER AFFIDAVITS

This form must be filed whenever real estate or some types of personal property are transferred (even if you are not recording a deed). It is used by the assessor to ensure the property is assessed properly and receives the correct taxable value. It must be filed by the new owner with the Assessor with 45 days of the transfer. If it is not filed timely, a penalty of $5/day (maximum $200) applies. The information on this form is NOT CONFIDENTIAL.

Section 211.27a(10)

“…the buyer, grantee, or other transferee of the property shall notify the appropriate assessing office in the local unit of government in which the property is located of the transfer of ownership of the property within 45 days of the transfer of ownership, on a form prescribed by the state tax commission that states the parties to the transfer, the date of the transfer, the actual consideration for the transfer, and the property’s parcel identification number or legal description.”

Section 211.27(5)

“Beginning December 31, 1994, the purchase price paid in a transfer of property is not the presumptive true cash value of the property transferred. In determining the true cash value of transferred property, an assessing officer shall assess that property using the same valuation method used to value all other property of that same classification in the assessing jurisdiction.”

Download the Property Transfer Affidavit Form.

 

HOMEOWNER'S PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE EXEMPTION

To claim an exemption, complete this affidavit and file it with your Assessor by May 1st of the year of the claim. The Assessor will adjust your taxes on your next property tax bill. In order to receive and exemption you must own and occupy the residence. *NOTE THAT THIS IS AN EXEMPTION FROM PART OF THE TAXES AND DOES NOT AFFECT YOUR ASSESSMENT*

***PROPERTY PURCHASED AFTER MAY 1ST WILL RECEIVE THE EXEMPTION THE FOLLOWING YEAR***

Download the Principal Residence Exemption Form.

 

REQUEST TO RESCIND HOMEOWNER'S PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE EXEMPTION

This form enables people who are selling or converting their home to another use to rescind their exemption. It also enables people to change the percentage that they occupy as their principal residences. When buying a new home and you already have an exemption please rescind the one before applying for another. You are required to rescind a principal residence exemption when you no longer own and occupy the property as your principal residence. The exemption will be removed December 31st of the year you rescind the exemption.

Download the Request to Rescind Principal Residence Exemption Form.

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is uncapping?
Uncapping is when a property is sold or changes hands (when the original owner(s) is no longer the owner). What happens is the Assessed Value (SEV/State Equalized Value) plus land values and economic condition factors that are placed on the properties each year becomes your new Taxable Value.

Example: Assessed Value is 50,000 and Taxable Value is 30,000. When you purchase the property the Assessed and Taxable Value become $50,000 (plus land value and economic condition factors). **Your taxes for the following year will not be what they were the year you purchased them. If you bought property during the year, your taxes are based on the old owner’s values. Once the year is over your property becomes uncapped and your new values begin.

What is SEV (State Equalized Value)?
The SEV or State Equalized Value is half the true cash value of the property. This value is what is determined to be Market Value. There is no limitation on the percentage that is increased or decreased each year. Those values are determined by a 24 month sales study on what is happening in your neighborhood. Therefore, ½ of your purchase price will not become your new SEV. That process is called chasing sales and it is illegal. Your State Equalized value can also be lowered if you remove a building or increased if you add on to your property.

What is Taxable Value?

Taxable value is what your property taxes are based on. There is a limitation on the percentage in which the property can increase; 5% or the IRM(inflation rate multiplier) also known as the cost of living, whichever is lower (PROPOSAL A OF 1994) The Taxable value can also be increased if you add on to your property, or decreased if you removed buildings/structures from your property.

***ASSESSED VALUES CAN GO DOWN AND YOUR TAXABLE CAN GO UP, DEPENDING ON THE COST OF LIVING***

Assessing and Tax Services – (External Site)